Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Guide - Conflicts & Ghosts and how to handle them Sticky

A topic by Akua created May 10, 2022 Views: 255
Viewing posts 1 to 1
Host (1 edit)

As a veteran dev, I often see that those newer to game dev and game jams overall have a tendency to insist on original assets in every area. In real terms, this is often a rare case to happen, especially during a game jam, as volunteer workers are unpredictable and sometimes unreliable, especially if both of you were strangers before inviting them to a team.

A common term we use for team members who go silent or MIA is “Ghost”. I had such a case happen in The Last Matches, a game I co-developed for the Winter VN Jam. A background artist who we scouted and seemed decent enough to work with suddenly left the server without an explanation. As someone used to being ghosted, I was disappointed to hear them tell me that leaving a team without notice was something they weren’t aware was inappropriate in “game dev etiquette", so to speak. Here are the two perspectives of me as a developer and as a volunteer artist.

As a developer, I’ll tell you this:

If you ghost a team, you’re putting me and everyone else in a difficult spot to find a replacement in time. We developers keep tabs on people who ghost—a network of indie devs who help each other and also warn each other about people who abandoned the project without a warning, which in turn can ruin your reputation by a lot and make it harder to be invited onto teams in the future.

This affects your monetary gain as well, since who can be sure you’ll stay once paid and not run away with the money?

Often, we just want to be informed of a leave, and if you’re willing to, know the reason for your leave. As an example, I try to adjust and make changes to the project’s management while also keeping you comfortable and your stress levels low. In the end, we put a certain trust in that you do your work.