Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Immediate Scenario Design

A topic by Wasteland of Enchantment Games created Aug 19, 2019 Views: 262 Replies: 7
Viewing posts 1 to 7
Submitted

As much as I love lingering over collaborative setting creation (throwing Fan Mail at Questlandia and Microscope), I don't think I can afford any of that here.

With the goal of introducing complete newbies to the idea of RPGs in no more than 30 minutes, I think it's probably best to design a game with a clear and exciting situation baked right in. The players need to know where they are, what they're facing,  and what they can do about it immediately.

That's pretty easy to do with a physical conflict. Pick a familiar genre, threaten the players, go. Whether it's an Inn surrounded by zombies or a sky-ship being boarded by pirates, it works the same. The stakes are high and the bad guy is obvious.

I struggle more, always, thinking of similarly engaging non-combat scenarios.

What's your approach to creating a scenario for your game? What advice do you have for scenario design?
Or maybe you disagree with my entire premise and are taking your game in a very different direction?

I think that's a pretty decent approach! 

I have a friend who introduces larp to teenagers on the street by doing something like that, but with a really immediate situation. He'll get a group of three and say "You are his/her boy/girlfriend" (points at other player), and you (points at third player) are the best friend. You (points at boy/girl friend) love (points at first player) but they haven't had time for you recently, so you slept with their best friend (points at third player). You..."

At that point he has more to say, but most of the time at that point the players are already ready to start yelling at each other already. Most folks can get right into the drama of that pretty quick.