Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Farbenfall - devlog about a game of colorful waterfalls

A topic by HopFlash created Jan 09, 2021 Views: 576 Replies: 15
Viewing posts 1 to 13
Submitted (2 edits) (+2)

Welcome to the devlog of "Farbenfall" a game from EarlGrey and HopFlash!

EarlGrey and I are friends and colleagues (not yet in game development ;) ). He is a design artist and I'm a software developer.

Day(s) before theme released for "My First Game Jam: Winter 2021"

EarlGrey and I were randomly talking about our potential game and he had the spontaneous idea about waterfalls with different colors which can merge into different (realistic) colors like yellow + red = orange

Because I thought that this colorful base theme would push some positive vibes into the world I totally agree that this can be our fundament for the game of this GameJam.

Then we played around with some words for the game name and finally chose "Farbenfall" which is a word transition from "Wasserfall" (german word for waterfall) and "Farben" (german word for colors).

We were sure to do a 2D puzzle-like game. I want to use Python and PyGame and he wants to use Figma for the art.

Some time ago I streamed on Twitch mainly for fun but there was a little community built up and therefore I have a (mostly german) discord server where I have still contact with some very nice people and I opened up a gamejam channel to discuss with EarlGrey and other interested peoples.

I talked about this GameJam with some friends and I think I will have several playtesters when it is time for that :)

Day 1