Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[DEVLOG] Melo: Stay Tuned

A topic by Lennico created Jul 14, 2018 Views: 222 Replies: 4
Viewing posts 1 to 5
(1 edit) (+2)

Hello everyone! My name is Lennico and I'm a student interested in game development. I am a noob on Unity, while on the other hand  I've been doing Photoshop since I was 16. This is my first attempt to finish a simple well-made game and the first time I join a game jam, so I'll try my best! As my code skills on C# are very basic, I hope to deal with problems using Youtube and Unity tutorials .

Between my favorite games are:  Life is strange, Night in the woods, Overwatch (so addictive)...

Well, this time I was inspired by Geometry Dash and other DS games. I feel like those games are very original but they relay too much pressure on the player (only one life). So I wanted to make Melo: a speed runner for Android in which the player must tap or swipe according to the rhythm of the theme playing, following indications. The plan for this game jam is to finish one level as I will need time to develop more. If the player does well enough (has to achieve a minimum number of points), he can continue onto the next one.

I want the player to enjoy the themes while synchronizing with it, so the player has to wear headphones. At the moment I don't know how much will levels last but no more than 3 minutes, as in that time there's already a lot of code.

For future plans:

• Automatically create levels using users own songs
  • I have thought to group levels into areas like Mario games, different instruments and esthetic for each one.
  • More professional animations.
  • Endless mode.
  • Implementing power-ups or boosters.

Goals:

• TO FINISH A LEVEL
  • Explore the world of audio and implementing it into a game: if anyone knows a program for mac to create music  (not garageband), please write down below its name! I will appreciate that!
  • Improve my C# skills.