Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[Devlog] Wannabe Hero: The Game

A topic by voltlotus created Jul 14, 2018 Views: 218 Replies: 6
Viewing posts 1 to 5
(+2)

Hello, my name is Lauren, and this is my first time participating in My First Game Jam. I'm planning on making a Point-and-Click Adventure game using Adventure Game Studio.

The game will be about my characters from my web-comic "Wannabe Hero" trying to start their actual adventure, but hi-jinks get in the way.

Main Goals

• Create basic assets for the game
  • Learn how to use Adventure Game Studio
Host(-1)

hey lauren! ahh your characters and comic look really cute and i'd love to see how they translate into a game!

i do want to pass on a quick thought from some previous jammers: while AGS has been the free engine to go to for quick point and click games quite a few jammers had a lot of trouble with it and mentioned that they wouldn't highly recommend the engine for others in the future (which is why i've pulled it + its resources from our engine list). if you're really set on a point and click in particular and don't want to spend time coding mechanics (that's completely understandable!) this is probably the best engine for you, but if you're ok diving into something a little deeper for the jam or in the future i may recommend rpgmaker mv (not free but occasionally goes on sale to around $20 + while not strictly "point and click" as an engine you can get really close!) or ren'py. making a point and click game in ren'py is a little bit of work and kind of custom but even if you don't do the fancy point and click coding i do think a visual novel would actually fit your style very well (and you can make a visual novel kind of adventure-like in design).