Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

HOW are you learning a new engine?

A topic by wobblewares created Sep 18, 2023 Views: 243 Replies: 7
Viewing posts 1 to 7

Most of us are learning a new engine this month so I thought it would be good to collate some info on exactly how we're learning and which tutorials/documentation we're using to get up and running.

Been using Unity for 10 years, but I've never used UE5 before, so I have started with the "Your first hour in Unreal Engine 5" video (it introduces the editor, importing assets and setting up lighting, but pretty much no blueprints or interactivity) ...and now I have just started "Let's make a game - Brick Breakers" as I'm planning to make a 2D or low-poly game and this course seems to be a promising way to work out how interactivity, particles, audio and game loops work in UE5 compared to Unity.

What resources are you all using to learn your new engine?

I'm learning godot engine and this playlist helping me a lot Introduction to the GDScript Fundamental Tutorial Series .
I'm  an artist with little to no programming knowledge, this playlist contains lecture of core computer science fundamentals with gdscript. For anyone trying out godot engine in this jam and  who's not really familiar with programming world but willing to learn someday, to be able to create games on their own, this might be your good start.