Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Composer

A topic by Jcoop created Dec 20, 2021 Views: 575 Replies: 17
Viewing posts 1 to 8
Submitted(+2)

Full disclosure - I've never scored a video game before.

If you've not been scared away by the first statement, then I'll also tell you that I've been a musician for 20 years, a film/television music editor for 13 years, and a computer geek 30 years and counting... :) As the pandemic has done for a lot of people (opening doors of curiosity and endeavour), I fell down a Youtube rabbit hole of video game composition and fell in love with the process and challenges associated with the implementation. I noticed it really matched up with my 10+ years of editing loops, stingers, transitions, etc for television news network music in particular (which needs to be very modular, layered, and sectioned for live access/usage during broadcast).

Anyway, I have a basic understanding of Wwise and FMOD, but/and I'm a quick study, so if there are other programs/apps that need to be used I'm game - pun fully intended. I'm a team player and very keen to contribute to any sort of project. I've worked on dozens of shows and films, so genre doesn't scare me!

I don't have a game music reel (obviously), but here's a couple of wildly different tracks of mine you can check out (one of which features my intrusive cat on backups in the chorus): https://soundcloud.com/joe-coupal-705825741

Cheers,

Joe

Hey Joe,

I've only been developing for 3 years now, and I'm working on my first full release independent title, everything else so far being prototypes or projects for someone else. Finally making the "dream game"! I won't cram the whole channel with my game description so here's a link with details :) :

https://godotforums.org/discussion/28273/maybe-the-coolest-game-about-dudes-name...