Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[Devlog] Nono Puzzle Museum (Picross/Nonogram)

A topic by meadow-ghost created Oct 03, 2021 Views: 485 Replies: 10
Viewing posts 1 to 9
(+1)

Hello all and Happy Devtober!

About the game
Nono Puzzle Museum (working title) has the mechanics of Pokemon Picross with the aesthetics of the museum from Animal Crossing. Work to solve picross/nonogram logic puzzles in order to fill out a charming museum with dino fossils, fish, bugs, and art. Meet special objectives for each stage to add more *pizzazz* to the rooms of the museum. Use fancy tools, solve murals made of multiple puzzles, and uncover hidden secrets.

About me
I go by Meadow, and I'm a front-end dev in my 20s in the U.S. I've been working on a 2D Unity puzzle game regularly for the last 6 months. I want to make good progress on the art and UI in a short time, and have a "full slice" of the game by the end of October. I need more accountability, so I'm glad to be here!

I was very much inspired by the article Happy 2021: You are going to finish a game this year. It had a lot of actionable advice for building a game with a very small scope. I haven't followed the advice there to the letter, but it's helped keep me on track.

Devlog purpose
I'm here to keep myself accountable for working on the game each day in October. I'm also open to thoughts, ideas, and criticism!

Day 0

I've been working on the game for a bit, so I'm starting from a good place

- Working nonogram engine (purchased from the Unity Asset Store and modified to suit my needs) and basic menuing system for selecting puzzles
Nono Puzzle Museum game puzzle screen with image of a dinosaur egg
- Full list of planned puzzles; 70% of which are created and checked for nonogram logic (i.e. is there a single, solvable solution to the puzzle without using guesswork)
- Rudimentary save logic that outputs user file data to JSON, for long-term storage