Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[Devlog] Space Monster Laser Dentist

A topic by Okay Scott created Oct 01, 2020 Views: 177 Replies: 5
Viewing posts 1 to 5
(1 edit)

Hello! I'm fairly new to serious coding and game development, but I've been futzing around with it for years now. I'd really like to develop some skills/knowledge, but I need motivation. I'm hoping joining this Jam and getting into a community will help me stay accountable and on task. This is my first Jam, first real game (potentially), and first coding language I've spent enough time with to actually feel comfortable with. I'll be using GML in Gamemaker Studio. really excited about it.

GOAL:

I don't really expect to finish a whole game in a month, but I do have the first steps of a bog-standard metroidvania worked out. I have a loose idea of where I want it to go and some ideas to spice up the game play. I'm going to just keep adding stuff to it to see what's possible, what works, and what I just don't "get" yet.

GAME:

A dentist is kidnapped and flung into the mouth of a giant space monster to do root canals on its gigantic teeth. He's accompanied by a little hovering laser drone that the player can detach and control independently of the doc. It'll be cut or weird or something maybe.

COMPLETED:

☑ A dude that can run around a level and jump and stuff

☑ A hovering drone that follows him

☑ The drone can detach and fly around independently

☑ The drone has a battery level that depletes with laser fire, shield generation, and free-fly.

TO-DO CHECKLIST:

☐ Melee weapon for doc

☐ Chainable combo attack

☑ Dash and/or slide (completed 10/3)

☐ Gutta Percha gun (and "buildable" blocks)

☐ Drone can tractor doc around

☐ X-ray bomb (and layer masking)

☐ Plaque monsters

☐ Destructible and x-rayable blocks (teeth and plaque)

☐ Level design

☐ Game art

EXTENDED GOALS:

☐ Polish dash to compensate for jumping, changing direction, etc