Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Project ENDGAME - A PS1 Style JRPG Dev diary

A topic by leotimer created Mar 12, 2021 Views: 557 Replies: 7
Viewing posts 1 to 5
Submitted

Hey! I've been working on a project for about a week now and wanted to share my progress and my plans for the next few weeks.

I pretty much instantly knew what I wanted to make once Haver was drawn in the raffle, a game based on PS1 era JRPGs, with fixed camera angles, a world map and turn based combat.

I'll be working with Unreal Engine 4 for a couple of reasons:

• I work as a technical artist at a small indie studio using UE4, so I am very familiar with the engine.
  • I have no real programming experience, so blueprints are a lifesaver.
  • I have over the years collected a bunch of asset packs from the Epic marketplace.

It's quite a bit ambitious and I have no idea if I'll actually get it done in time, but either way I've been really enjoying the challenges.

What I have so far is:

• Fixed camera style exploration
  • Free camera world map
  • Main menu screen w/ all functionality
  • partially done game menus

Here is a recent build playthrough: 

The idea is to have the fixed camera areas look like they are pre rendered and then have the world map look a lot rougher, the FF games didn't really have any limitation to the visual quality of their pre rendered areas aside from interactivity because they weren't dependent on the PS1 power, while the world maps were fully rendered in engine.

Using UE to make a retro looking game might seem silly, but stripping the visuals down isn't that big of an issue.

Example of the "Retro" filter on/off