For combat, the instructions say "Each side rolls 1d6 and the highest roll goes first. PC’s roll initiative twice and act in full on both turns. Re-roll matching initiatives". Does this mean you would roll one time for an entire group of enemies? When it says "side", to me that implies the entirety of the opposing force as opposed to rolling for individual enemies.
Also, the rules say that "Combat is played out in rounds, with each round requiring an initiative roll". To me this means that a round includes all player and enemy turns. The following section says that "Each combat round happens in a sequence: " and then lists the five steps of the round. Does this then mean that each step is done one at a time in initiative order before moving on to the next step? For example, Step 1: Player moves, then enemy moves; Step 2 Enemy fires arrow, Step 3 Player uses magic attack etc... OR am I making this too complicated and it simply means that whomever has first initiative does steps 1-5 then whomever has second initiative then does their 1-5 steps? If so, to me its confusing to list ranged, magic, and melee as steps 2-4 as opposed to just saying "Attacks". I hope this all makes sense!