Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

10 Tips from a Game Jam Veteran

A topic by C64Gamer created Nov 11, 2021 Views: 468 Replies: 2
Viewing posts 1 to 3
(4 edits) (+1)

I did a lot of game jams in the past 10 years. I'm a game developer in my daily routine and creating games is also a hobby. Here are my 10 tips for you if you are doing a jam the first time:

1. Be prepared

It is important that you are starting prepared in a game jam. Don’t install the latest version of your game engine or IDE 5 mins before the jam is starting. Create and prepare everything you need before the jam starts. Doing those upgrades too late or in the jam can lead to time problems because you are more fixing your problems than creating a game.

2. Know your toolset

You are having 2 Days to create a game. It is really important that you know your tools. Know your programming language, know how the tools you want to use are working, know how to export your game or how you have to use a version control system. If you struggle sit down before and practice.

3. Don’t think too big

People are really often underestimating 2 days. Find a game that is doable in 2 days. A tip can be to find a game idea with only one core mechanic. Not more. If you have time left you can add more stuff at the end.

4. Prototyping

Try when you are starting with your game to have a runnable and playable prototype working as fast a possible. Don’t spend too much time on the first feature of your game with polished graphics, nice sounds, etc. It happens too often that you have to change the idea of your game and throw parts of it away. If you had then spent 5 hours creating the best possible inventory system you can … this would be waste of time.

5. Have a timeline