Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Questions? Start here! Sticky

A topic by AMES Showcase created Mar 24, 2020 Views: 384 Replies: 18
Viewing posts 1 to 10
Host (2 edits)

Building up a FAQ - if you have questions, post here!

Q: Can former students participate?
A: YES! Just make sure you mark that you're a former student team when you submit your project. Only CURRENT student projects will be ranked.

Q: What resolution is required?
A: NONE! We recommend keeping it rationally small (not much bigger than 1024x768) to account for monitor size variance, but there's no explicit limit. But if it's set too high for a judge to play on their machine, they can't play it!

Hi, I graduated last year from the Sno-Isle VGD program and was wondering if me and a fellow Alumni may join? Even if we don't qualify for any awards or places, we'd still like to join in on the fun =)

Host

Board says YES former students can participate, but are not scored, so please ID that you're a former student team somewhere in your project page :) I'm going to add a field on submissions for that as well.

Submitted

My team and I were wondering what you mean by Growth through changes. Can you by chance have give us some specifications on what this could mean for the prompt?

Host

The prompt is set up to be "interpretable", you can take it how you want to. We try to do prompts that are open-ended enough to be versatile and not box people into specifics too much - if you have a specific idea you want to validate (does X meet the prompt?) you can either post here or email me - jflatmo on gmail (not doing email in normal format 'cuz bots...) to talk about it.

Submitted

Is there a specific resolution our game needs to be built for?

Host

Great question! For this, no. I'd recommend not going much over 1024x768 just to account for different peoples' screen resolutions and stuff (not everyone has an Awesome Gaming Rig), but nothing specific.