This jam is now over. It ran from 2024-02-20 12:00:00 to 2024-02-25 20:00:00. View 21 entries

Welcome to Games Now! game jam spring 2024!

Games Now! is an open lecture series on trends in game development and design. Our community is open for anyone to attend, including our game jams! This year, our game jams move to hybrid mode and we are all about international teams and mixing game schools! The jam is held on both Games Now! Discord server and HypeHype Helsinki office as well as at campuses of our collaborating schools. The jam theme is revealed on Tuesday, 20th February, and we have a first deadline (gameplay videos) on Friday 23rd. The final deadline for the games is on the Sun 25th.

As the jam is open for anyone to attend (we are all students at the school of life), invite all your friends. The best jam games (there will be time to polish) will be exhibited at an art gallery in Helsinki, on May 2024.

We also offer matchmaking help. All the teams and jammers participating in the matchmaking process are required to register for the jam latest on 12th February and to be active on our Discord server throughout the jam, especially on Monday (19th Feb) and Tuesday (20th Feb).


*************************************************************************** 

Register to the GN! Game Jam - Spring 2024:  https://forms.gle/K9NqMbcoB3KoGzpx9

Join our GN! Discord server: https://discord.gg/YsgagHX

Note: You have to be active on Discord throughout the jam!

***************************************************************************


We continue our series of online jams with multicultural collaboration with jammers from various countries around the world.  You can join the jammer matchmaking to meet new people and explore your own creative powers together! The jam will be jointly held in collaboration with the GN! network's universities and schools. Check the full list here: https://gamesnow.aalto.fi/schools/

You can join the jam regardless of whether you are enrolled in any game school - the jam is open to anyone and free of charge! We welcome everyone who loves games and is interested in cross-cultural jamming. You can take multiple roles in game jams depending on your interest. Game jams always need programmers and artists, but also designers, writers and musicians are important to the teams. For a game jam team that crosses time zones, a producer role is  also very valuable!

The jam will be kicked off on the 20th of February, 2024 as part of the GN! Event Week program at: https://www.twitch.tv/gamesnowaaltofi. At the kick-off, we will introduce the rules of the jam and reveal the inspirational theme.



####### Requirements and Theme ######################## 

The technology of the jam games is not restricted, we welcome all digital platforms as well as all forms of analog games, such as board games.

The jam will have an inspirational theme, which will be revealed on the 20th of February 2024.

All jam teams are required to be completely transparent on which tools, resources, and software were used to make the game. You can choose the license of your game, as long as it allows playing the jam version of the game for free.

The best games of this jam have the possibility to be showcased at Kumma Gallery in Helsinki in May 2024. Eligibility for the art gallery showcase:

  • Your game was submitted to GN! Game Jam Autumn 2023 or GN! Game Jam Spring 2024 according to the deadlines
  • Your game page includes a gameplay video
  • Your game was made in a team with at least 1 student from the GN! Network schools (check here: https://gamesnow.aalto.fi/schools/)
  • We might prioritize teams with at least 2 members from different GN! Network schools
  • We give bonus weight to the teams that worked with several time zones and/or language barriers


##################### Schedule #####################

##### Before the Jam #####

  • Matchmaking signup: Until Monday 12th February 2024 (register here: https://forms.gle/K9NqMbcoB3KoGzpx9)
  • Matchmaking team announcement on GN! Discord: From Friday 16th February November 2024 @GN! Discord: https://discord.gg/YsgagHX
  • GN! Event Week lectures: Mon-Tues, 19th 20th February 2024, 10:00 -16:00 (EET) / 9:00 - 15:00 (CET) / 8:00 – 14:00 (UTC) / 3:00 - 9:00 (EST) / 0:00 - 6:00 (PST) / 16:00 - 22:00 (HKT) / 17:00 - 23:00 (KST, JST) @ https://www.twitch.tv/gamesnowaaltofi & Hype Hype (Annankatu 34, Helsinki), Finland

##### The Jam #####

  • Jam kick-off (theme reveal and brainstorming): Tuesday 20th February 2024, 14:00 -16:00 (EET) / 13:00 - 15:00 (CET) / 12:00 – 14:00 (UTC) / 7:00 - 9:00 (EST) / 4:00 - 6:00 (PST) / 20:00 - 22:00 (HKT) / 21:00 - 23:00 (KST, JST)  @ https://www.twitch.tv/gamesnowaaltofi & Hype Hype (Annankatu 34, Helsinki), Finland
  • GN! Game Jam Streamhttps://www.twitch.tv/gamesnowaaltofi & Hype Hype (Annankatu 34, Helsinki), Finland
    • Wednesday 21st February 2024, 13:00 -15:00 (EET) / 12:00 - 14:00 (CET) / 11:00 – 13:00 (UTC) / 6:00 - 9:00 (EST) / 3:00 - 5:00 (PST) / 19:00 - 21:00 (HKT) / 20:00 - 22:00 (KST, JST) 
    • Thursday 22nd February 2024, 13:00 -15:00 (EET) / 12:00 - 14:00 (CET) / 11:00 – 13:00 (UTC) / 6:00 - 9:00 (EST) / 3:00 - 5:00 (PST) / 19:00 - 21:00 (HKT) / 20:00 - 22:00 (KST, JST) 
  • Progress reports and help throughout the jam, at GN! Discord: https://discord.gg/YsgagHX

##### Deadlines #####

  • All teams set by Wednesday 21st February 2024, 10:00 (EET)  / 9:00 (CET) / 8:00 (UTC) / 3:00 (EST) / 0:00 (PST) / 16:00 (HKT) / 17:00 (KST, JST) 
  • Game idea & team roles agreed upon within the teams by Thursday 22nd February 2024, 10:00 (EET) / 9:00 (CET) / 8:00 (UTC) / 3:00 (EST) / 0:00 (PST)  / 16:00 (HKT) / 17:00 (KST, JST) 
  • First playable by Friday 23rd February 2024, 10:00 (EET)  / 9:00 (CET) / 8:00 (UTC) / 3:00 (EST) / 0:00 (PST) / 16:0 (HKT) / 17:00 (KST, JST) 
  • Gameplay video by Friday 23rd February 2024, 12:00 (EET) /  11:00 (CEST) / 10:00 (UTC) / 5:00 (EST) / 2:00 (PST) / 18:00 (HKT) / 19:00 (KST, JST) - submit at GN! Discord: https://discord.gg/YsgagHX (#game-jam-videos channel)
  • First version of the game page on itch.io by Saturday 22:00 (EET) / 21:00 (CEST) / 20:00 (UTC) /  15:00 (EST) / 12:00 (PST) / 25th February 2024, 4:00 (HKT), 5:00 (KST, JST) - on itch.io
  • Final deadline: 25th February 2024, 22:00 (EET) / 21:00 (CEST) / 20:00 (UTC) /  15:00 (EST) / 12:00 (PST) / 26th February 2024, 4:00 (HKT), 5:00 (KST, JST) (submit your game page on this jam page).

##### Exhibition #####

  • GN! Exhibition (for selected games): 27th May - 2nd June, 2024 @Kumma Gallery (Kankurinkatu 5, Helsinki), Finland


##################### Jam Hosts #####################

Annakaisa Kultima, Aalto University, Finland

Annakaisa Kultima, Aalto University, Finland 

https://aakoosgamelab.com/

Annakaisa Kultima is a university lecturer in interactive media at Aalto University School of Arts, Design and Architecture in Finland. She has been teaching and studying game design and development since 2006 in several universities in Finland and Sweden as well as traveled as a visiting lecturer around the world including universities in US, China, Denmark, South Korea and Japan. Her research is concentrating on game development cultures, creativity, game industry trends, as well as game jams. Kultima’s PhD dissertation “Game Design Praxiology” examined the multitude of issues of understanding ‘games as created’ including game jam cultures. Kultima is also an active member of the game ecosystem in Finland and internationally: she is working as a judge in several game competitions, running and participating in game jams (around 50 game jams so far!) as well as curating exhibitions on games. She has been leading Global Game Jam theme committee and been the regional organizer and site organizer for Global Game Jam for many years. She is also a member of the founding team of The Finnish Museum of Games as well as the co-founder and the head of non-profit organization Finnish Game Jam between 2013-2020. At Aalto University, Annakaisa works on the Games Now! open lecture series carefully picking the most interesting topics and speakers to the series.


Solip Park Aalto University, Finland

Solip Park Aalto University, Finland 

http://www.parksolip.com/

Solip is a doctoral researcher at Aalto University School of Arts, Design, and Architecture - Department of Arts and Media. Her current research interest is focused on digital game production, work culture, and immigrants/expats. Solip is the author and artist of "Game Expats Story" comic series, while currently acting as a member of the board and Graphics/Arts Team Lead at Finnish Game Jam Ry and Management Team Lead at the Korean Student Association in Finland (KOSAFI Ry). She is working with the Embassy of the Republic of Korea (South) in Finland, leading their "Kor-Fin Esports Festival" and "Kor-Fin Special Game Week" projects - connecting game devs in Finland and South Korea.  Solip was once the first South Korean to acquire Finland's startup entrepreneur residence permit in 2018. She was one of the founding members of Nexon Computer Museum - the first permanent museum in East Asia dedicated to the history of computer and video games, located in South Korea.



Submissions(21)

All submissions
·
Browser playable (7)
·
Windows (12)
macOS (1)
Linux (1)

No submissions match your filter

Catch the Domovoy before he deletes all your files!
Play in browser
Game developed for Games Now! Jam 2024 :D
Play in browser
A Game of Feline Mayhem
Fighting
Play in browser
A game about a parrot that messes up the apartment!
Action
Interactive Runner, where the player sets obstacles while the bot tries to overcome them
Adventure
A cute 3D shooter where you play as a cat!
Shooter
Play in browser
Interactive Fiction
Will you get through this BUG filled puzzle platformer?
Platformer
Play in browser
Take on the role of a furious seagull on a mission!
Action
Uncover the backstory of Curupira and the tales from the Amazon rainforest.
GamesNow! Event Week 2024 Version
Interactive Fiction
Feed the soldiers to maintain morale and win the war - an army marches on its stomach!
Action
Play in browser
You´re free to make a colorful mess!
The outside world is littering your habitat! Time for you to swat away all that garbage
Play in browser