Posted September 06, 2022 by Melv Lee
Hi all,
Thanks to Lunadips's feedback, I have now updated the Rulebook and Playerboard with more clarifications on some of the rules and some typo clean up!
I have uploaded them as vErrata for now as there may be more changes to come! (the original versions are hidden for now)
Also included below a full errata!
Clarifying Questions (for Rule Book):
-Page 2, Setting Up, #5: When placing clues can they be placed at the same location as the player? Can both clues end up in the same location? Or should you re-roll if either occurs?
-PC can save Daytime AP for Nighttime through resting in safe place. But Nighttime AP cannot be saved over for the next Daytime, correct?
-Page 3, Establish Advantage for a Day: does this only apply to the current Day. For example, you cannot spend 3 clues just before the Villain Phase (i.e. when all AP spent) to then use it for the Day shift in the following round?
-Page 3, Trigger Showdown: When this happens does the player have that single Action Phase to win the game? So basically PC has a maximum of 9 rolls (if complete Day and Night shifts) to reduce the Waypoint maximum of 7 (Waypoint 13 - the minimum required knowledge of 3, so 13- 6)? So if the PC does it they win and if they do not they lose (e.g. Villain escapes)? This would be a much more climatic ending than allowing the Rounds to keep going if the PC cannot succeed in that one Action Phase.
-Page 3; Venture: in the solo game, the only benefit of being in a Safe Place seems to be if you roll a 4-6 during Villain Moves where it will protect you. Also it allows you to carry AP from Day to Night. Otherwise it doesn’t have any influence? Do I have that correct? For example, is the Villain Move roles 11+ then it does not matter whether your rogue was in a Safe Place, you immediately roll 1d6 to see if they are in a portentous or foreboding location?
-Page 3, Diplomacy: a success in Diplomacy moves the contact’s disposition up but it is not stated by how much. I assume it is a single space.
-Page 4, Scenario, third paragraph: when identifying where your Rogue is located, is you did not make a Venture action to find a Safe Place previously, is Safe Place still an option when making the location roll?
-Page 4, Scenario: For the Explore or Investigation Scenarios does the PC have to stay at that location and reduce the Waypoint to zero to get the clues, or can they leave the location, not receive any clues but the waypoint stays at whatever level they had reduced it to that round, and when they return to that location they can continue the task? I assume the former but wanted to check.
-Page 4, Contacts: as I understand it if you lose a contact they are out of the game permanently. So a solo player with three contacts and they lose one contact, they cannot later recruit a contact to go back up to three, correct? This is in the rules, just making sure my interpretation is correct.
-Page 4, Contact Phase - you roll on the Contact Phase table irrespective of the disposition of your contact and carry out the corresponding result, but if you roll a 1-4, you only get a clue set to you if the contact is Friendly or Helpful, correct
-Page 5, Contact In Danger: - what to do when it is the contact Facing Danger and not the PC is not made clear in the rules. I believe it is the following:
-when contact in Danger, roll on City Location to determine # Waypoints. And roll 1d4 + 1 for the clues. So in this case you do not add the # of location clues but just add the one clue that the contact is carrying. Correct?
-Page 6, Villain Moves: If the PC is already in a Face Danger Scenario do you ignore a role of 4-6, 7 or 11+ on the Villain Moves and just continue the Face Danger Scenario on the next round? If the PC was mid-way through an Exploration or Investigation Scenario and the Villain Moves table indicates they enter a Face Danger Scenario, do you end the Exploration/Investigation scenario and set up for a Face Danger Scenario starting from scratch against a new Way Point #?
-Player Board, Villain section, Villain Moves: What does the asterisk on “ Roll D12 + number of clues PC Held* ” signify or which footnote does it refer to? Seems not needed?