Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles

Saving statistics from deleted builds.

A topic by SmokeSomeFrogs created Mar 30, 2018 Views: 64 Replies: 2
Viewing posts 1 to 3
(+1)

Today, I reuploaded my Windows build to test something and I think since it was named like the old file the system deleted the file that was online. After I saw this I tried it again to verify it with my other windows build (the english one) and quit without saving, sadly the build was deleted nevertheless. It would be great to have some sort of warning message? It's not a big problem for me because I simply reuploaded the two builds but I fear a bit that it has an effect on the rank and also I wanted to share detailed numbers in a postmortem. 

tl;dr: I think it would be great if you could see the download numbers from deleted builds.

Admin(+2)

Thanks for the feedback. The way we handle file-replacement isn't very good right now. It's something we want to address soon. If you need me to pull analytics from a deleted file I can check out database. I think in the future adding a deleted files section to the analytics page would be a good idea too.

Nice to hear that you already are considering in changing it :) It would be nice if you could look up the numbers of the two replaced/deleted numbers but only if it isn't a lot of work. I have the numbers from a day before and wrote the complete download numbers down after it happened and can calculate them with a margin of error which is definitely enough for the postmortem.

Does it affect the ranking when I delete a file? I think many developers would consider deleting their "Hidden Files" (and free up storage) if they would keep the statistics and would know if it affects the ranking.