SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Colonial Viper Car

A topic by Galactican created Nov 27, 2021 Views: 360 Replies: 27
Viewing posts 1 to 19
Submitted (2 edits)

Hello fans,

this is my first post / thread here on itch.io and the first entry for the 2021 PaperJams.

I am a hobby paper model designer from Germany and co-admin of www.zealot.com , an international paper modeling forum. I am a huge "Battlestar Galactica" and "Buck Rogers" fan so you can already guess my priorities. You can see some of my work at www.stevespaper.com , www.paperaviation.de and of course www.zealot.com (where I am known as "Revell-Fan" ;) ).

This time it is all about "Redline Racers", paper toys that are super-charged vehicles that compete in a fictional race full of wacky and over-powered cars. Since I am a huge "Battlestar Galactica" fan the topic was clear to me from the start: A four-wheeled vehicle with massive thrusters that will go from 0 to 100 in a flash: The notorious Colonial Viper Car!

The best part of this project: The Viper car really exists. It is a street legal car built by Dean Shorey, the master ride mechanic for Seabreeze Amusement Park in Rochester, NY. The base was an old small-block paired with a mail truck. It seats one person, has a cassette deck but no a/c and no bumpers.

A quick Google search provided me with a few nice pictures of the real thing which were quite handy for my design work in SketchUp:

The parts were then cleaned up, unfolded and textured in CorelDRAW. Stay tuned for the test build! :)

Beeindruckend. Bin mir sicher dass am Ende was gescheites raus kommt.

Submitted (1 edit)

Thank you! :)

What a surprise to see a comment in German. This is my first thread on itch.io, so I thought the language to use was English. If you don't mind, I'd keep posting in English so that international fans may understand what I'm writing. ;)