Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

What are you making?

A topic by Tobias V. Langhoff created Oct 01, 2020 Views: 911 Replies: 44
Viewing posts 1 to 14
Submitted(+1)

The jam has started! Has anyone started? Do you have any ideas?

I have a few ideas. This year my goal is to make on CHIP-8 game targeted at the COSMAC VIP, one SUPER-CHIP game targeted at the HP48 calculators, and one XO-CHIP game. I made two CHIP-8 games that ran on original COSMAC VIP hardware last year, and that was great fun. (I also like turn-based stuff and puzzle games anyway, which is well suited for that.)

Submitted(+1)

I've settled on the idea of making a microgame collection (i.e. Warioware).

My biggest worry is that I don't know exactly how much I can fit in, especially since this is my first time working with the CHIP-8 and its extensions. Guess we'll just see how that goes...

Submitted(+1)

Cool! Usually CHIP-8 games have the scope of a single micrograme, hehe. But it's definitely possible to cram a bunch of stuff into one game, especially if they don't need a lot of graphical assets. Even then, XO-CHIP gives you a lot of space for assets (just not code, easily at least).

Wait, why does XO-CHIP not give you space for code?

Submitted(+3)

Well, there's nothing stopping you from putting code beyond the "regular" 4K of CHIP-8 memory, but XO-CHIP doesn't provide a way to jump or call code there. You can set the `i` index register to anywhere in the 64K memory space, however, so it's easy to use for graphics or audio.

HostSubmitted (4 edits) (+2)

Right. It's a product of the instruction encoding. The "jump", "jump0", "call" and "i:=NNN" CHIP-8 instructions only have space for a 12-bit immediate address. XO-CHIP expands the RAM available, and provides "i:=long NNNN", which can point to a 16-bit immediate address (and which is 4 bytes long instead of 2). Since jump/jump0/call don't have a "wide" flavor, you can't as easily place code outside the low 4k.