Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Devlog: Swift Strategies

A topic by ThatANonoWord created Jan 19, 2022 Views: 296 Replies: 27
Viewing posts 1 to 21
Submitted

Uh... Perhaps I should have made this sooner.

I plan to make a very miniaturized version of well known strategy RPG games, such as Final Fantasy Tactics or Fire Emblem. In this game, you start with a small amount of troops and continually get into fights against various opponents. Your units can promote after surviving multiple fights, becoming stronger than before.

I got a movement script finished! I can also easily make maps because I have a completed map builder, though I haven't actually made any proper maps. I have a few sprites created, though I am not an artist so I don't plan on making any sprite animations. Here are a few examples:

I already have a general plan of what my game looks like and how it will flow. Hopefully things will work out smoothly.

Thanks for reading!

(+1)

Nice! I like the name especially. How oriented is it going to be around strategy? And if the RPG elements don't come out well, than maybe you could convert it to a fantasy RTS (Real Time Strategy) game.

Submitted(+1)

Thanks! The strategy is supposed to be on a micro scale, such as positioning and thinking who to attack, as well as large scale strategy, since you constantly get new units and you have to think about your team composition.

Nice, sounds like an interesting project. Thanks for the feedback on my devlog btw

Submitted(+2)

Mom said it was my turn on the magic tome

Submitted

Next day, all character sprites have been finished. I need to get to making the attacking system for my game, as well as some UI components.

(+1)

I don't know if this is good or bad, but the character looks vaguely like Captain America or Mega Man.

Submitted(+1)

Hahaha, all of the characters use a mostly blue color palette to distinguish that they are your units. Opposing units will have similar sprites but red.