SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Jinxzh - My First Game Jam

A topic by jinxzh created Jan 16, 2022 Views: 99 Replies: 2
Viewing posts 1 to 3
Submitted(+1)

Hello, everyone! 

My name is Suha and this is my first game jam! I didn't really know how to start my devlog until today, so that's that, but I'll try to update every day.

I'm a total beginner and have no experience making games, but I am a digital artist and have messed around with Ren'py before. I'm hoping to create a short, simple visual novel for the jam, but I'm mainly here to enjoy the process and learn more!

Yesterday I didn't get much done, but I began writing and figured out how to code all of the mechanics I want in my game (though that wasn't too hard because of how simple I'm going).

I'll probably update again this evening with today's progress!

Submitted(+2)

Day 2 done!

Today I decided to work on drawing a sprite. Since it's my first game, I limited myself to one character with just two expressions, and I attached an image on the progress so far!

It's definitely far from done- especially since I was indecisive about the pose and haven't drawn that yet. I'm also not totally happy with the coloring; it ended up a lot more realistic than I would've liked (especially the locs), so I may or may not change that tomorrow. 

I also drew and coded in a textbox for the game. (I decided to go with the Nature theme!!)

As for the actual storyline and script, I haven't made much progress since yesterday. It starts off pretty cliché, in that you, the player, wake up without any memories and have to figure out who/what/where you are. I plan on making it so that every time the player uncovers a new piece of information, they start their journey over again and have new choices/routes unlocked based on that information. I'm still figuring out how exactly to end the game, but that's the plan so far!