SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Apparition

A topic by cartyrs created Jan 10, 2021 Views: 1,531 Replies: 31
Viewing posts 1 to 21
Submitted (4 edits) (+5)

Quick Intro

First log of the jam! My name's Carter, I'm 22, and you can find me @ cartyrs on tumblr and twitter. I'm an artist, filmmaker, and writer.

I'm new to game development, and this jam came at just the right time! I'm currently writing a longform RPGMaker mystery game, but I haven't had the confidence to dive right into the program or the coding. I plan to heavily take advantage of this jam to get over my fear so I can start my dream game! In order to not stress the details, for this jam, I'll be adapting a short film of mine, titled "Apparition."

Game Details

"Apparition" is the story of Heather and Eden: a displaced young adult taking refuge in an abandoned house, and the ghost of its' previous occupant. 
The story is a sapphic supernatural romance and a commentary on lesbian censorship/"dead lesbian syndrome."
While the game will not feature prominent adult themes, there are mentions and depictions of: death, witchcraft, sex, homelessness, and minor allusions to religion and homophobia.

Programs are Aseprite, RPGMaker MV, Paint Tool SAI, and possibly Photoshop.

Game will predominantly be a walking/exploration sim with some interactivity as the plot goes on. My main goal is to learn RPGMaker assests, how to map, and how to code!

Concept Art

Heather (left) and Eden (right).

I'm excited to see what everyone makes during the jam!!! Good luck everyone!

Submitted(+5)

Dev Log 1/9/2021:

Started the girls walk sprites! I'll be making a minimal amt of assets myself, so I have more time to focus on learning the program. 

Heather (top) and Eden (bottom).

Program: Aseprite

(+1)

I LOVE the story concept, and the art is looking amazing already!

Submitted

THANK YOU so much omg ;_;

(+1)