Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[DevLog] Bridges- COMPLETE

A topic by Synzia created Jan 08, 2017 Views: 807 Replies: 20
Viewing posts 1 to 17
Submitted (2 edits) (+1)

Hi! This is my first time making a game, so any feedback is greatly appreciated!

-Game Title: "Bridges" (Tentative title)

-Engine: Twine

-Genre: Interactive Story

Quick Description: You have the choice to make their last days better. What will you do?

[Day 1]

I jumped into this having only read tutorials on how to use Twine, and opening it once or twice to get used to the interface. Never made anything really beyond a single linked passage. So I'm happy with my progress so far, considering I'm generally a person who lacks motivation to get things done!

I haven't started writing the story extensively yet, but I'm not too concerned about that since that is my area of expertise. Still, if I'm calculating things right, I will have 332 passages to write. Which is. A lot. Granted, some will be almost direct copies of others, but I'll still need to tweak each one, as making each choice unique, even in small ways, is a goal of mine.

Here's a look at the current story map. I used the small view because my passage titles are full of spoilers to help me keep track of where I am. I'm putting all the placeholder passages in first then I'm going to go back and put the actual story in. The idea is you have to visit 5 areas, but the 5 areas can be visited in any order, and the areas you visited previously can affect how the new area goes.

photo Jan1st2017DevLog.png

My goals for the next few days is to finish the skeleton map, add two simple variables to the beginning (name and sex), and possibly add a couple extra variables that will affect choices in minor ways, where they won't need a new passage rather than a simple extra sentence or a small event.

Host