Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Egress Postmortem

A topic by doubleh created Jul 22, 2019 Views: 308
Viewing posts 1 to 1
Submitted(+2)

So, here we are, at the end of another jam. I'll begin by saying I began this jam with very little expectations. I'm a writer and a developer, most of my recent game making ventures have been rather frustrating, so I started this one very casually.  For those who don't know, my jam entry, Egress is a dystpopian visual novel about dating and choices: [Link]

I was initially taken aback by my teammate, Minbiscuits, who from the start showed signs of being a very dedicated player. He not only began drawing many concept sketches right away, he did things of his own initiative, which proved essential later on.  As it always happens, several members of my team dropped from the start. The person who was meant to be our background artist did nothing and said nothing, and the person who was meant to be our programmer was active to pretend he was going to work, but also did nothing. Used to this, I cobbled together the first demo, and Mint, the sprite artist coded the rest, proving to be much faster and well suited than I was.

I'm usually very organized when it comes to game dev, this year as I mentioned I took a more relaxed approach, taking things as they came. I made no schedule, I wrote only a very rough outline and I did not forsee whether we could complete the game or not (which addmittedly would've helped). This created its own set of problems, but I will admit, having a casual work style really helps with ideas. It's good to just kick back some times, experiment and let yourself be dragged by the circumstances. It's definetly a good experience to have once in a while.