Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs

Fahren8

A topic by mudkraken created Jul 16, 2018 Views: 203 Replies: 8
Viewing posts 1 to 8
(8 edits) (+2)

Hey there! I'm a bit late to the party but here goes.

This is my first time doing a game jam and, while I've been doing gamedev on and off for a while, I've never actually produced a complete game. I figure this jam is a good opportunity to actually finish something!

The game

This will basically be a roguelike, top-down 2d game.

You play as a prototype firefighting android codenamed Fahren8. Your creators, scientists for the Fahren corporation, have accidentally set their entire underground research lab on fire and they need you to fix it! Your goal is to go floor by floor and put the fires out, finding blueprints and schematics for upgrades along the way and bringing them back the scientists on the surface to have them built. Of course they'll charge you for it, cause scientists have bills to pay too!

The laboratory floors will be procedurally-generated and you'll find more loot the further down you get, however the game will also become more difficult at the same time. Once that happens and the flames overwhelm you, you'll start over at the surface, buy upgrades with the coins you accumulated from the previous play-through, and start over with a freshly generated set of floors. The game will end when you reach the bottom floor where the source of the fire is and resolve the situation.

The tools

UPDATE: This all changed on day 2; I initially used Rust/ggez but realized that getting linux/osx builds was gonna be too much of a PITA from my Windows box. Decided to cut my losses early on and use something a little more established.

The game is now written in lua/love2d, using Aseprite to make pixel pixel art and Renoise to put some music/sound effects together

(1 edit) (+1)

Day 1