Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Way of the Water

A topic by BrickFrog created Jul 14, 2018 Views: 652 Replies: 11
Viewing posts 1 to 9
(+2)

A man awakens floating in the water at the shore of an underwater cave. He doesn't know how he got there or where he is. He finds an ancient engraving containing the Way of the Water and learns how to become one with the element, turning the gentle force into the deadly weapon he needs to fight his way back to the surface. 

Basic Concept: Dodging based, fast paced top down game with water bending ala Avatar The Last Airbender. Dodge enemies and use the environment to secure victory as you unlock new powers

A little about myself: I'm a massage therapist, a voice actor, and I have about a week's worth of programming experience in Godot. I'm in way over my head and just hoping to learn some stuff. I have messed around with Unity in the past (and never got anywhere) and have a semester in beginners Java. 

Scope of the game:

I'm going to break my game up into chunks:

The first chunk will be the bare minimum, which is a character with movement and dodging, a health bar, a water resource meter, and the ability to use water whip, which will basically be a close range attack covering a 35 degree angle (or so) in front of the player. There will also be at least one enemy type and 2 levels.

The 2nd chunk is the interesting stuff, adding new abilities to the player such as a hydro pump that will push enemies away from a distance while doing a small amount of damage (but rapidly deplete water), the ability to replenish water from puddles placed in the environment, and an ability to fling enemies from medium distance, causing damage on impact to both themselves and other enemies they hit (and potentially doing massive damage or killing them if they hit hazards). It will also include environmental hazards like wall spikes and pits you can fling or push enemies into. At least 1 or 2 more enemies here.