🤑 Indie game store🙌 Free games😂 Fun games😨 Horror games
👷 Game development🎨 Assets📚 Comics
🎉 Sales🎁 Bundles

[devlog] For the Hearts

A topic by nofruitcake created 1 year ago Views: 627 Replies: 28
Viewing posts 1 to 23
(Edited 1 time) (+1)

Hi everyone I meant to make this devlog yesterday but got too sleepy

It's really nice to finally participate in this jam, this is my first time ever making a game. I didn't get a chance to post in the introduction thread yet so here's a bit of background; I like pixel art and I think 2D games like Very Retrouvaille, Melon Journey, Pom Gets Wi-Fi, games like that are really charming and nice and simple. And it would be cool if I could make something like that

Yesterday I made the title graphic

This game is based on a story I had to write for language arts class in middle school. The main protag is a girl named Mina during the end of the school year where an annual science fair takes place. She has trouble working on her project and the deadline keeps drawing closer (i hope this won't be me lmao). I can't remember all the details clearly but I know the main theme of it was about her feelings towards her friend/someone she admired and how it affected her during the month of the science fair.

I plan it to be pretty short and simple enough for this jam's duration. My main goal is to do my best in finishing it in time.

also this

Thanks!

(+2)

Log for yesterday and today

Mina's sprite was done a while ago, but here's an update!

it was actually REALLY fun making this! i had a bit of trouble arranging it in order for RPG maker though. tbh i'm not sure how to feel about it, i originally wanted the sprites to have an outline but it looks weird and too messy with it so it's all just solid shapes basically. i'll tackle walk cycles later today or tomorrow. also, i drew some scenes in a notebook along with dialogue for the intro scene (yesterday).

and here are original designs for the title, also from yesterday