SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

how is this working?

A topic by razcore-rad created Sep 24, 2016 Views: 1,759 Replies: 24
Viewing posts 1 to 9

Hello fellow virtual entities!

I'm new with game jams in general and I want to be sure about some things:

1. does 4 colors mean, 4 colors on top of the 2 white and black non-colors? example: white, black, red, green, blue, yellow, would this be allowed?

2. can there be shades of these colors? say have red and play with saturation or luminosity?

3. what's stopping us from starting developing the game today? how does this work exactly? do we need to start building the game when the jam starts? or can we gather resources and start developing on it right away and just have it submitted during the 10 days?

I'm Razvan Radulescu, razvanc-r around the web and pretty much unknown as I've only been lurking in the virtual shadows but I'm trying to make my way towards game dev. somehow :). I'm a fan of Godot and would like to use this engine, but it can't export for gameboy, would it be enough to just have the specific resolution and the color thing?

Thanks for all the help!

As far as I know black and white are counted as a colour on their own, a different shade means a different colour. As for question 3, I guess you could technically start working on the game now but that's not the spirit of the jam.

You can make games for any platform you want, it is not required to be exported on Gameboy.

Thanks, that clears up things! I wouldn't start the developing before the jam starts, but I definitely need to do some research as this would be my first game and I don't know if I'm able to do it in 10 days... :). Hope that's not breaking the spirit of the jam! I don't like being the "cheat" :P

(1 edit)