Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Art Assets - Modular

A topic by DeepFriedOreo created Nov 26, 2020 Views: 224 Replies: 5
Viewing posts 1 to 2
(2 edits)

Hey, I typically do these jams by myself, and as you say in the information blurb I do use them to practice my game dev skills, but as I am not an artist I use them to develop my programming and gameplay loop skills. I also typically use modular game assets to create my levels, since again, I am not an artist.

In the rules page, there is a section that says all assets must be made in the time of the jam (excluding music and text fonts), and that any pre-builts or templates will go against the "Originality" category. I understand that if I use modular art assets this is most likely still going to be the case, but my question is: If I use my modular piece, like I normally do, to create a completely original game world (albeit with the same "every house uses drywall" tactic that is already used in real life anyway) would I at least get less removed from the originality category for using the modular assets in an original and creative way?

This is not my game idea, as I don't know the theme yet, but let me give you an example. Say my game is called "Trouble in the Workshop", and the player character is a chair. His goal is to browse through the workshop and find himself 2 worthy "arms" so he can finally become the armchair he's always wanted to be.

(+1)

Using pre-made assets will impact one of the judging categories - Originality. That means that you might get less score than you would get using original assets. nd using pre-made assets in a creative way might make you some Originality points, but not all

How would you know is it original or not? There are probably dozen of sites with free assets.